According to Yahoo! Sports, Vinnie Catricala, who is now with the Oakland A's Double-A affiliate Midland Rock Hounds, took a called strike from the Corpus Christie Hooks' pitcher.
When Catricala backed out of the batter's box to complain, the umpire apparently used a very seldom-known rule that allows the umpire to call a strike if a batter does not step back into the batter's box in a timely matter, Yahoo! reported.
The umpire called two strikes then not only declared Catricala out, he tossed him from the game.