Bakersfield Music Hall of Fame announces inaugural class

The Bakersfield Music Hall of Fame has announced its inaugural class of inductees.

The Hall of Fame will eventually honor 17 local musical greats over the course of this year, but the first five inductees will be enshrined during a concert and ceremony Jan. 27:

  • Merle Haggard
  • Buck Owens
  • Bonnie Owens
  • Red Simpson
  • Billy Mize

Each performer will be honored with a portrait inside the Hall of Fame, as well as a star in the concrete walkway.

The Hall of Fame, which opened in December 2015, will schedule two more ceremonies for later this year for the other 12 inductees:

  • Mary Osborne
  • Lawrence Tibbett
  • Korn
  • Jean Shepard
  • Larry Daniels
  • Tommy Collins
  • Susan Raye
  • Doug Davis
  • Luther Davis
  • Ken Nelson
  • Don Rich
  • Cousin Herb Henson

Kim McAbee, with the Hall of Fame, said they plan one induction ceremony annually thereafter.

All inductees were selected by a vote of Hall of Fame members.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off